(with optional service learning)

Stellenbosch, South Africa

Stellenbosch is South Africa's second oldest town, in beautiful wine country: the Jonkershoek Valley on the southern tip of Africa. Superb beaches are a half hour away. The 60,000 year-round residents of Stellenbosch enjoy easy access to Cape Town, which is a 30 minute drive and a crossroads of cultures, languages and oceans.

Program of Study
Semester/Summer - with or without service learning
The University has four campuses and a student population of 15,000. The University population is more than 30 percent non-white, while 98 percent of the students speak English as their first or second language. Students study from July-November or February-June and can choose from subjects in African studies, art, biology, management, conservation ecology, economics, history, literature, political science, sociology and theology . Students may also complete a service learning program during the semester or as part of a summer program.  Other summer programs include business and public health.

Living Arrangements 
Housing in University residence halls or in a homestay with a cash rebate for meals. Homestays provide a single room. Residence hall living is a single room with a private bathroom as well as kitchen and living room shared with three other students. AIFS students receive a meal allowance for use in University cafeterias or to purchase food to cook. Homestay students are given equivalent funds to purchase their own meals either at the University, a grocery store or in their hosts' home.

Students pay the Berry College semester tuition.  Current room and partial board fees are $3800; see the budget in the side bar for additional semester fees.  See the AIFS website for summer transient fees.  All costs are estimated and subject to change. 

Open to sophomores, juniors and seniors with a minimum 2.5 GPA.

Visa Information 
By South African law, foreign students can obtain a visa/study permit only if they have a round trip ticket with a fixed return date. Students must apply to the South African consulate for a visa/study permit. Consulates are located in New York, Washington, Los Angeles, and Chicago.