Distinguished Alumni Awards

Distinguished Achievement Award

C. Randall Clark (67C)

C. Randall Clark

As a leader in forensic drug chemistry research at Auburn University, Dr. C. Randall Clark works to analyze the composition of various drugs. In the modern era of designer substances and dangerous synthetic drugs, data on drug-like molecules has emerged as a critical need for law enforcement and public welfare. Clark is doing extraordinary work to advance the field and to train others for the future.

Among the research methods he has mastered is mass spectrometry, an analytical technique used to measure chemical substances. Throughout his career, he has contributed over 1000 mass spectra of new drug-like substances to the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) mass spectra database, a resource used by analytical scientists throughout the world for the identification of emerging drugs and related substances.

As a result of his expertise, he was selected by the Research Triangle Institute Forensic Sciences Center of Excellence to provide training for new forensic analytical techniques such as vapor phase infrared spectroscopy for identification of synthetic drug substances.

He has mentored more than 50 master’s degree and Ph.D. students, providing direction for their research and graduate education and has taught generations of students now practicing pharmacy throughout the U.S. For the last 20 years, he has served as Auburn University Faculty Chair of the Drug Testing in Athletics oversight committee, which is responsible for monitoring the athletics drug testing program and hearing all appeals cases involving drugs and alcohol in athletics.

He earned an Auburn University Alumni Professorship and the Sandra Kent Gilliland and David Louie Gilliland Endowed Professorship for outstanding research and teaching accomplishments. He was awarded the Distinguished Graduate Faculty Lectureship for extraordinary contributions to the Auburn University graduate programs.

Over the past ten years, he has successfully competed for over $2,500,000 in research funding from the National Institute of Justice, the research, development and evaluation agency of the United States Department of Justice. Based on his current total number of career publications in peer-reviewed journals, he is among the top ten most productive journal authors in the history of Auburn University. He has also served on the Editorial Advisory Board of the Journal of Chromatographic Science and earned the Carmichael Research Award from the Alabama Academy of Sciences.