News & Stories
May 5, 2021

Student Receives Prestigious Fulbright Award

Berry College senior Taylor Blaylock has received a Fulbright grant to teach English in Taiwan during the 2021-22 academic year.

Blaylock has worked as a teacher’s assistant at the Berry College Child Development Center and as an associate at School Aged Child Care in Tennessee, where she will work during the summer prior to her departure to Taiwan in August. She said she admires Taiwan’s successful educational system and looks forward to learning Mandarin. She hopes to visit China, South Korea, and Japan during her time in Taiwan, and will enjoy exploring Taiwanese culture.

The Fulbright Program was established in 1946 with the intention to promote international good will through the exchange of students in the fields of education, culture, and science. It is the largest US exchange program and currently awards approximately 2,200 grants annually in all fields of study. Fulbright operates in more than 160 countries worldwide.

Blaylock, whose major is elementary education and has minors in Applied Behavior Analysis and Teaching English as a Foreign Language, graduates in May. Scholarships she has received during her time at Berry include the Mae & Orlin Harper Scholarship, the Arline Bowen Dobson Scholarship, the Nellie J Katelle Scholarship, the Berry Dean’s Scholarship and the George I. Alden Scholarship. She has been on the Dean’s List since 2017 and on the Athletic Academic Honor Roll since 2018. Blaylock has been on the Dean’s List since 2017 and on the Athletic Academic Honor Roll since 2018.

During her time in college, she was inducted into Kappa Delta Pi (International Honor Society in Education), Phi Kappa Phi (Honor Society of Superior Scholarship), and Lambda Sigma (National Honor Society for Second-Year Students). And she is a member of the Berry College Swim and Dive Team.

Upon her return to the U.S., Blaylock intends to teach at an elementary school and obtain a master’s degree in education. She is the sixth Berry College student to earn a Fulbright grant since 1991. Previous awards went to Robin Leblanc (Japan 1991), Samantha Hiner (Spain 2010), Phat Huynh (Vietnam 2011), Lauren Fenner (South Korea 2011), and Zachary Wroblewski (Slovak Republic 2016).


Office of Public Relations

 Back to Top

Footer Menu