Communication students garner national awards  

College Broadcasters, Inc. and College Media Association recently recognized Berry College’s student-run multimedia website, Viking Fusion, and Department of Communication students in four national competitions.

Viking Fusion and the Department of Communication received a combined five Pinnacle Awards, which was a department best. This included the third consecutive year that the department has had two finalists in the Best Audio Slideshow category. The roster of national award winners and those Berry students who placed, by competition are:

CBI Visual Media Festival:

  • 1st place, Short Film Fiction for “My Roommate the Alien,” produced by Sara Arms (2019 graduate), Beth Anne DeKeizer (2019 graduate), Jack Padgett (2019 graduate), Shelby Sims and Shelby Newland

CBI National Student Production Awards:

  • 3rd place, Best Video PSA for “Domestic Violence,” produced by Bruno Rosa (2019 graduate), DeKeizer  and Kendall Aronson

CMA Pinnacle Awards:

  • 1st place, Television Entertainment Program for “My Roommate the Alien,” produced by Arms, DeKeizer,   Padgett, Sims and Newland
  • 1st place, Audio Slideshow for “The beautiful story of Mary Beth Cornwell,” produced by Emily Reid
  • 2nd place, Audio Slideshow for “Dirt bike racing with Noah Caldwell,” produced by Matthew McConnell
  • Honorable Mention, Best Viral Video for “Runs in the Family,” produced by Noah Syverson, Megan Duncan and Erika Becerra
  • Honorable Mention, Best House Ad for “48 Hour Film Challenge Poster,” produced by Ellie Harmon

CMA 2019 Film and Audio Festival:

  • 2nd Place, Creative Film for “Finger Guns,” produced by Wyatt Duemler
  • 3rd Place, Sports Video for “I try and catch the ball,” produced by Syverson

College Broadcasters, Inc.’s National Student Production Awards and Visual Media Festival were presented as part of the annual National Student Electronic Media Convention in St. Louis, as were the Pinnacle Awards and CMA Film and Audio Festival, both announced during the 2019 National College Media Convention sponsored by CMA and the Associated Collegiate Press in Washington, D.C.

# # #