Service Awards

Left Nav

Sullivan Awards

Berry College has the honor of presenting the Algernon Sydney Sullivan and Mary Mildred Sullivan Awards at the spring Honors Convocation each year. For nearly 100 years, the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation ( has given these awards to recognize individuals whose "nobility of character" and dedication to service sets them apart as examples for others. Sullivan awards are highly prized and, over the years, have been bestowed on many interesting people who have proven their ability to live up to the standards set by this honor. Past recipients of the Algernon Sydney Sullivan or Mary Mildred Sullivan Awards range from First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt to Fred Rogers, noted star of children's television.

At Berry, the Sullivan Awards celebrate a male and a female graduating senior who demonstrate integrity in their interactions with others, provide vision for a better society, and give willingly and humbly to their neighbors. Awards are reserved for those individuals who perform extraordinary acts of kindness and helpfulness but have largely gone unrecognized. Further, those honored are leading lives of purpose for the common good as distinguished by their nobility of character, leadership skills, servant's heart, and spiritual values. Please note that these are not academic awards.

Shatto Leadership and Service Awards

Since 1998, Berry College has presented the Shatto Leadership and Service Awards honoring the legacy of Dr. Gloria M. Shatto, sixth president of Berry College. The Shatto Leadership and Service Awards are given to students, faculty, and staff members who are acutely sensitive to the needs of the local community and who lead others in visioning innovative solutions that transform society. Like Dr. Shatto, award recipients exhibit excellence in leadership, service with integrity, and commitment to a cause. Further, the award recognizes those that embody Berry College’s motto, “Not to be ministered unto, but to minister.”

Nominations are solicited from students, faculty and staff early in spring semester. In February, a committee reviews nominations and make recommendations of award recipients. Recipients are announced at the spring Honors Convocation. Please note that these are not academic awards.

 Back to Top

Footer Menu